...Mightier Than the Sword
A Fan Fiction Archive
Reviews For Release
Reviewer: cheap toms shoes 2014 (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2014 1:49:44 AM · On: Chapter 40

Hi, I believe your website could possibly be having web browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it's got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, excellent site!|
[url=http://www.mach2libri.com/temp/toms-en.asp]cheap toms shoes 2014[/url]

Reviewer: cheap toms baby (Anonymous) · Date: 25 Apr 2014 6:42:10 PM · On: Chapter 40

Vielen Dank! Wollt ich nur sagen.|
[url=http://cheaptoms.bl.ee]cheap toms baby[/url]

Reviewer: Illy (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2009 9:42:36 AM · On: Chapter 1

It was okay.

Reviewer: Danielle et al. (Anonymous) · Date: 08 May 2006 12:37:56 AM · On: Chapter 1


The summary actually kept me away, the first few times I read it. Goren accused of a crime? Either all the characters would all disbelieve and spend their time disproving the crime (*yawn*) or it would be wildly out of character. At least that's what I assumed.

I was so wrong. From the first chapter, I was hooked. The author has a fluid style, never distracting me by poor grammar or forcing situations by abusing characterization. The premise was hard to accept, considering this isn't x-files (I enjoy XF, but I have a hard time seeing it realistically crossing over with L&O). But I let that one go and jumped into the story, and it was worth it.

A lot of the characterizations were dead-on. I could see Goren and his mannerisms -- all the pacing, occasional stammering, bending down, glancing sideways -- very clearly illustrated. He was very much the gentle giant know-it-all, and I loved him for it.

In canon, it seems that Eames exists only to give Goren reason to talk out loud, though something was missing when Bishop replaced her -- a chemistry that binds the partnership together. This story made me realize that that's why I prefer Eames to Bishop; it's not just that Kathryn Erbe has a stronger presence.

Considering Eames' somewhat vacuous presence on the show, I was surprised that she could be written like this. She's completely in-character, but the author deeply explores the partnership between Goren and Eames, until Eames has a personality of her own, and I discovered that I really like her, too.

Their interactions are priceless, down to Eames' thoughts about how Goren consistently refers to her by her last name. You can see why he's special to her, why she is the one and only person who really sees Goren for who he is -- and loves him deeply for it. The author really sold me on G/E.

The characterization that bothered me the most was that of Stabler. It was a believable characterization; I just didn't agree with it.

I like Stabler, but I sometimes want to throttle him for being so violent in canon. He certainly has that temper here, but I'm not sure I buy it. In canon, he does get violent if a perp sickens him enough. I just don't see him getting this sickened by Goren's actions.

Stabler is triggered by violence against children and the outright depravity of psychopathic personalities. I didn't see either here. He's also viciously protective of Benson, and that's where he got most violent in this fic. But in canon, Benson generally doesn't *let* Stabler get violent on her account. And when he does, she gets royally pissed off at him. OTOH, I did like how Stabler's religious beliefs played a small part.

One thing I reveled in was how the author hinted at the viability of other pairings -- even one particular slash pairing (or that could just be my wishful thinking) -- while never crossing the line. The reader is never presented with any pairing other than G/E, though other common pairings are never contradicted.

The author's writings about the occult (especially where magick is concerned) were solid. The one thing I would argue against is the usage of the term warlock. The majority of male witches prefer to be called witches. The word warlock originally meant 'oath-breaker,' and generally speaking, only the more evil men of the occult would choose to be called by that name.

Not saying that there aren't exceptions; just that I found the apparent inaccuracy to be distracting. I would have expected others to call him a warlock (owing largely to the show 'Bewitched') and for him to correct them, telling them that the term was offensive. Especially since most people would never think to call a man a witch.

Oh, and an apparent uploading error -- Chapters 30 and 31 are identical.

Overall, I loved the fic, and want to see much more!

Reviewer: Danielle et al. (Anonymous) · Date: 07 May 2006 9:54:42 PM · On: Chapter 1


The summary actually kept me away, the first few times I read it. Goren accused of a crime? Either all the characters would all disbelieve and spend their time disproving the crime (*yawn*) or it would be wildly out of character. At least that's what I assumed.

I was so wrong. From the first chapter, I was hooked. The author has a fluid style, never distracting me by poor grammar or forcing situations by abusing characterization. The premise was hard to accept, considering this isn't x-files (I enjoy XF, but I have a hard time seeing it realistically crossing over with L&O). But I let that one go and jumped into the story, and it was worth it.

A lot of the characterizations were dead-on. I could see Goren and his mannerisms -- all the pacing, occasional stammering, bending down, glancing sideways -- very clearly illustrated. He was very much the gentle giant know-it-all, and I loved him for it.

In canon, it seems that Eames exists only to give Goren reason to talk out loud, though something was missing when Bishop replaced her -- a chemistry that binds the partnership together. This story made me realize that that's why I prefer Eames to Bishop; it's not just that Kathryn Erbe has a stronger presence.

Considering Eames' somewhat vacuous presence on the show, I was surprised that she could be written like this. She's completely in-character, but the author deeply explores the partnership between Goren and Eames, until Eames has a personality of her own, and I discovered that I really like her, too.

Their interactions are priceless, down to Eames' thoughts about how Goren consistently refers to her by her last name. You can see why he's special to her, why she is the one and only person who really sees Goren for who he is -- and loves him deeply for it. The author really sold me on G/E.

The characterization that bothered me the most was that of Stabler. It was a believable characterization; I just didn't agree with it.

I like Stabler, but I sometimes want to throttle him for being so violent in canon. He certainly has that temper here, but I'm not sure I buy it. In canon, he does get violent if a perp sickens him enough. I just don't see him getting this sickened by Goren's actions.

Stabler is triggered by violence against children and the outright depravity of psychopathic personalities. I didn't see either here. He's also viciously protective of Benson, and that's where he got most violent in this fic. But in canon, Benson generally doesn't *let* Stabler get violent on her account. And when he does, she gets royally pissed off at him. OTOH, I did like how Stabler's religious beliefs played a small part.

One thing I reveled in was how the author hinted at the viability of other pairings -- even one particular slash pairing (or that could just be my wishful thinking) -- while never crossing the line. The reader is never presented with any pairing other than G/E, though other common pairings are never contradicted.

The author's writings about the occult (especially where magick is concerned) were solid. The one thing I would argue against is the usage of the term warlock. The majority of male witches prefer to be called witches. The word warlock originally meant 'oath-breaker,' and generally speaking, only the more evil men of the occult would choose to be called by that name.

Not saying that there aren't exceptions; just that I found the apparent inaccuracy to be distracting. I would have expected others to call him a warlock (owing largely to the show 'Bewitched') and for him to correct them, telling them that the term was offensive. Especially since most people would never think to call a man a witch.

Oh, and an apparent uploading error -- Chapters 30 and 31 are identical.

Overall, I loved the fic, and want to see much more!

Reviewer: ZF (Anonymous) · Date: 27 Feb 2006 1:42:23 PM · On: Chapter 1

Characterization was funny and good (Munch and Fin's interactions had me laughing). Writes a good Goren and Eames - better than most I've read. I like how she writes their relationship, their understanding of each other and their conversations. I could hear them saying the lines, and I can't do that in many G/E fics. Brava.

Once I suspended my disbelief and went with the whole supernatural thing I could get into the story, but it took some effort. (I think, however, that's my bias. The writing and characterization were solid.)
Also, the hot sex didn't hurt either ;).

I thought the confrontation on the rooftop lasted a long time and there were parts that confused me, but I can chalk some of that up to reading it at 1 a.m..
Overall, good story. Well worth the time.
Good story!

Reviewer: KTG (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Feb 2006 9:19:10 PM · On: Chapter 1

This was the first CI fanfic i've ever read. I loved it so much, and now I'm worried I'll never read another one as good! Thank you so much for sharing this...Is another one in the works?

Reviewer: jules (darkgoddezz@gmx.net) (Anonymous) · Date: 15 Jul 2005 10:56:22 PM · On: Chapter 1

I want *more*. Now. *sniffs* I could start whining, you know? So loud and annoying that you would just write more to shut me up. Maybe I should just tell you that I enjoyed every part of this fiction and was in fact grinning like an idiot while reading the snarky and romantic parts, laughed when they joked, shivered when it got to intense, wailed when their was a cliffhanger, aawed when it got sweet and wanted to wack Bobby and Alex with something hard over their pretty heads. So yeah. Really great story XD *taps fingers and waits unpatiently* jules

Reviewer: Cathrin (Anonymous) · Date: 06 Jun 2005 5:52:45 PM · On: Chapter 27

This story is absolutely fantastic so far! You got the characters all perfectly right - the way they talk, move, interact with each other... I also love the supernatural part! Brilliant story - keep it going! ;o)

Submit a Review